The 51st Tampere Theatre festival was held from 5th to 11th August, 2019. The biggest theatre festival in the Nordic countries brought together almost 90,000 theatre-goers. The estimate includes all of the programmes and events related to the Festival. The next Tampere Theatre Festival will take place 3–9 August 2020.


    PR & information
    tel. +358 3 214 0992

    Head of PR and marketing
    Tiina Hurskainen



    Tampere Theatre Festival's press images and official logos can be used freely by the media. Please mention both the name of the photographer as well as Tampere Theatre Festival in the caption and/or photo credits.


    Three press conferences will be held at restaurant Klubi (Tullikamarin aukio 2) during the festival week as follows:

    Monday, 5th of August at 13.00-14.15
    Wednesday, 7th of August at 10.00-11.00
    Friday, 9th of August at 10.00-11.00

    The Tampere Theatre Festival’s artistic team Hilkka-Liisa Iivanainen, Aleksis Meaney and Tanjalotta Räikkä as well as the executive director Hanna Rosendahl will be present in all the press conferences.

    The artists from Finland will present their work in Finnish, but international artists speak English.

    This is the order of appearance, but please note that changes are possible.


    Monday, 5th of August at 13.00-14.15

    Tampere University, Tampere University of Applied Sciences, Tampere Conservatoire: Hair
    Director Pauliina Hulkko

    Kinetic Orchestra: I’m Liquid
    Choreographer Jarkko Mandelin

    Circo Aereo: Lion –The Weird and Magical Abracadabra Circus Show
    Performer, writer Marc Gassot

    Dance Theatre MD: Sisters & The Field
    Managing director Anniina Kumpuniemi

    Programme Tent at Central Square of Tampere
    Production coordinator Elina Valkama

    Fringe programme OFF Tampere, Hotel Tammer Concerts & The Great Nocturnal Happening
    Production coordinator Susanna Koskimaa


    Wednesday, 7th of August at 10.00-11.00

    Keisha Thompson: Man on the Moon
    Performer, writer Keisha Thompson

    IIPM (International Institute of Political Murder) & Création Studio Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles: La Reprise. Histoire(s) du théâtre (I)
    Production Manager of the IIPM Mascha Euchner-Martinez

    Sofia Södergård: SLICK
    Actor, choreographer, director Sofia Södergård

    Theatre Academy of the University of the Arts Helsinki: N.E.G.R.O. – Nhaga & Erista Growing ’n Reaching Out
    Performer, director Geoffrey Erista


    Friday, 9th of August at 10.00-11.00

    Theater Jurkka: Nora
    Director Alma Lehmuskallio, actors Rosanna Kemppi and Kreeta Salminen

    Theater Basel: Medea
    Director, writer Anne-Louise Sarks

    Briefs Factory: Hot Brown Honey
    Kim “Busty Beatz” Bowers (writer, composer, performer) & Lisa Fa’alafi (writer, director, choreographer, performer)

    Nassim Soleimanpour & Bush Theatre: Nassim
    Writer, performer Nassim Soleimanpour


    Changes are possible.