Jaakko Laitinen & Väärä Raha

Jaakko Laitinen & Väärä Raha (eng. False Money) was founded in 2009 by five Finnish Laplanders living in Helsinki.  The band’s music is a unique fusion world music of various ingredients marinated in special sauces, main elements being the Balkan Roma grooves, Russian romances and old Finnish tango and humppa.

The band consists of vocal, trumpet, bouzouki, accordion, double bass and drums. The songs are 99 % own compositions of the orchestra. Joy and sorrow are engaged in the rhythms and melodies, just like in life itself.

The Lapland-Balkan band has released four critically acclaimed albums, but it is most of all known for it's wild live shows. During the nine years of it's existence Väärä Raha has been making average of 70 gigs per year and has visited over 20 different countries.

On stage: Jaakko Laitinen, Ilkka Arola, Marko Roininen, Juho Kanervo and Janne Hast